CreeptychI’VE GOT BUGS on the brain. Today, The Horror Mall unveiled my new short fiction collection Creeptych. I’ve been hinting at this one for awhile (I started writing the final piece for the collection last fall).

A three-story book focused on things with appetite and a lot of legs, this one is available both as an e-book through Darkside Digital, and as a limited edition hardcover chapbook from Delirium Books. I’m particularly excited about the latter edition, as my novelette Failure launched the Delirium Books hardcover chapbook line four years ago, and so far, I’ve created the covers for all the titles in that line (including my new one!)

In addition, as a special teaser, Darkside Digital and The Horror Mall are currently giving away a professional audiobook version of one of the book’s three stories — “Bad Day.” For a limited time, people can download “Bad Day” for free to listen to on your iPod, or in the car, or whereever from The Horror Mall.

Here’s the full description of the book:

Does your skin crawl when you see a spider on the wall or a roach on the kitchen floor? Do you find yourself itching uncontrollably after being touched by a fly or mosquito? Do you ever lie awake half the night because you felt something delicately, carefully crawling across your feet beneath the sheets? Then this Creeptych of three bug-ridden stories is for you!

BAD DAY: Paul Hughes had a really bad day. He lost his job, his wife and then after getting bit by a bug… his life. Compared to what happens to his neighbors after the Luna Roaches come to town, his day wasn’t so bad at all. At least he died…

EARDRUM BUZZ: Wes couldn’t get enough of the music of Eardrum Buzz’s first disc, Misery Machine; the drone of their guitars was hypnotizing. But when he is brought into the band’s inner circle to join The Swarm, he soon has the music within him. Terrifyingly deep within him…

VIOLET LAGOON: When a quartet of co-eds decide to reenact The Blue Lagoon on an abandoned Florida Key, they find more than just sex and sand is on the agenda. Stings turn out to play a part in their weekend as well. Lots and lots of stings. But those were just the beginning of the pain…

If you want to see more info about the full book, check these links:

  • The hardcover:
  • The digital:
  • The audio sampler:

About John Everson

John Everson is a Bram Stoker Award-winning horror author with more than 100 published short stories and 14 novels of horror and dark fantasy currently in print. His first novel, Covenant, won the Bram Stoker Award for a First Novel in 2005. His sixth novel, NightWhere, was a Bram Stoker Finalist in 2013. Its sequel, The Night Mother, was released in June 2023.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The maximum upload file size: 12 MB. You can upload: image, audio, video, document, spreadsheet, interactive, other. Links to YouTube, Facebook, Twitter and other services inserted in the comment text will be automatically embedded. Drop file here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.