A Return to NightWhere…

NightWhere is a batshit crazy, hot, wet ride into hell!”
-Dreadful Tales  

2022 WAS THE 10-YEAR ANNIVERSARY of the release of NightWhere, my sixth novel and my second to be a finalist for the Bram Stoker Award. It was also the year I finished writing its long-awaited and promised sequel, The Night Mother. After years of wanting to tell the story of Selena, the mysterious fallen angel from NightWhere, I finally dug in and did it. And the story surprised me! The novel went in a bit of a different direction than I intended… but I love how it turned out.

NightWhere was one of the first releases from the now-defunct Samhain Publishing, and has become one of my most-read novels, which is funny to me because for years I was a little afraid to write it, given its over-the-top “sex club from hell” themes. One reviewer called it “50 Shades meets Hellraiser,” which I think is the best description ever! The novel has gone on to sell thousands of copies in translation in Germany, was also released in Poland and this year will be released in Czech. Fans all over the world have asked me for years: “Will there be a new NightWhere story? When?”

Well, in just over a month, you’ll be able to finally read the next chapter in NightWhere!

This week, the original novel will return to print. And on June 1, The Night Mother will at last appear! Here’s what they’ll look like:

The Night Mother picks up shortly after the events of NightWhere, and brings back many of the characters from the original book (including Mark, Rae and Selena), as well as introducing some new cast members. You can pre-order the eBook edition of The Night Mother now on Amazon. The trade paperback edition will also be available on June 1, however there is no regular pre-order available for that. I am offering a pre-order option for signed and personalized editions of that via The Night Mother page on this site.

Read the full descriptions of each book here:

There is also a standalone NightWhere novelette called Field of Flesh, a sidebar story set between the timelines of the two novels. To celebrate the release of The Night Mother, for the first time ever, Field of Flesh will appear in a small trade paperback edition in May! More news on that soon. Here’s what the full cover will look like:

Get ready for a sinister spring!

NightWhere and The Night Mother by John Everson

About John Everson

John Everson is a Bram Stoker Award-winning horror author with more than 100 published short stories and 14 novels of horror and dark fantasy currently in print. His first novel, Covenant, won the Bram Stoker Award for a First Novel in 2005. His sixth novel, NightWhere, was a Bram Stoker Finalist in 2013. Its sequel, The Night Mother, was released in June 2023.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The maximum upload file size: 12 MB. You can upload: image, audio, video, document, spreadsheet, interactive, other. Links to YouTube, Facebook, Twitter and other services inserted in the comment text will be automatically embedded. Drop file here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.